A breakdown of the four main types of Yoga

The word “yoga” means union. In short terms, yoga is an activity that creates harmony between the mind and body.

Yoga is a practice that has existed since ancient times. Over centuries, yoga has been adapted into many different forms that stimulate both physical and mental benefits.

All different types of yoga have been proven to help you fight stress and find serenity.

For many, yoga can be an emotional release of life’s stressors. It is a time of the day where you can put aside all other worries and focus on oneself.

We at HOKALI are committed to connecting you to the best yoga instructors in the area. Whether you are new to yoga or have been practicing it for many years, we will put you in touch with someone very experienced in the practice.

Before you set up your first yoga session, take a look at the differences in the four main types of yoga.

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga is derived from the word ‘eight’ in Sanskrit.

It is named after the eight pillars of its practice: Principles, personal discipline, asana and postures, pranayama, withdrawal, concentration, meditation and salvation.

Ashtanga yoga specializes in anxiety, stress relief, back pain, and weight loss. If you suffer from any of these, practicing ashtanga yoga will very likely help ease your pain.

When participating in ashtanga yoga you will likely practice: padmasana, simhasan, the butterfly, and different types of pranayama.

Ashtanga Yoga

Hatha Yoga

Hatha is derived from the word ‘force’ in Sanskrit.

Hatha yoga is designed to restore balance to your body. It targets the seven main energy points in your body.

Practicing hatha yoga is proven to purify and heal your body. It has been proven to help you relieve stress, stay physically fit, and look younger.

Hatha yoga combines many demanding physical poses and moves that help mold a balance of body and mind.

Yoga Session

Vinyasa Yoga

Vinyasa yoga, also known as flow yoga, incorporates movement and breathing techniques. It is good for those who are looking to practice a high-intensity version of yoga.

Oftentimes people who practice vinyasa yoga are incorporating it with other cardio and strength-training.

The goal of vinyasa yoga is to have energy enter your body through one passage and exit through another. The transition from pose to pose represents a transition in everyday life.

When participating in ashtanga yoga you will likely practice: plank pose, cobra pose, and downward facing dog.

Woman practicing Yoga in san francisco

Aerial Yoga

Though it may sound challenging because of the name, aerial yoga can be performed by beginners and advanced yoga participants alike.

Aerial yoga helps build and tone arm, leg, chest, back, and core muscles. It helps participants burn body fat, become more flexible, and improve posture.

All poses when completing aerial yoga will be done with the assistance of a cloth-like harness hanging from the ceiling.

Aerial Yoga

One thought on “A breakdown of the four main types of Yoga

Leave a Reply